Maximum Contamination Levels (MCL)

By |2018-05-21T11:16:52-04:00May 21st, 2018|

Maximum Contaminant Levels (MCLs) are standards that are set by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for drinking water quality. An MCL is the legal threshold limit on the [...]

Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA)

By |2018-05-21T11:13:49-04:00May 21st, 2018|

The Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) was originally passed by congress in 1974 to regulate the nation’s public drinking water supply. Under the SDWA, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) sets [...]

Secondary Contaminants

By |2018-05-21T11:13:19-04:00May 21st, 2018|

The Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) secondary standards are created for water contaminants that cause aesthetic problems such as bad taste, discoloration, or odor. In the past, these standards were always [...]

Primary Contaminants

By |2018-05-21T11:12:47-04:00May 21st, 2018|

The Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) primary standards are set for contaminants that cause some health effect such as illness, disease, cancer, or another health problem. Adherence to these standards is [...]

Drinking Water Standards

By |2018-05-21T11:12:22-04:00May 21st, 2018|

Drinking water standards give the level of a pollutant that is acceptable in water. These standards are set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) using available research data. The [...]